Review: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between

Hello, Goodbye

Title: Hello, GOodbye and Everything In Between
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Publisher: Poppy Books
Publication Date: September 2015
Source: Hardcover
On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan have only one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night leads them to family and friends, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?
    I have never read anything by this author and I don’t typically read romance books they’re just not my thing. I received this as an ARC through the store I work at but it just kind of sat on my shelf for a while. I read a few pages of it earlier in the month but it didn’t really tug at my heartstrings but I think that was more to do with me not being in the right mood for this type of story than the writing itself. So I picked up again the other night and finished it.
     The two main characters Clare and Aiden are likable enough I much preferred Aiden to Clare she was not super believable to me. I felt like the author was trying to make her into a Rory Gilmore character and just trying too hard to make her something she’s not. Plus it made it hard for me to imagine why someone so outgoing and voracious as Aiden would have been drawn to her but I guess it fits the opposite attracts idea. There were two minor characters who had an interesting storyline that I would have liked to hear more about and they would be Clare’s best friend Stella and Aiden’s best friend Scotty. They almost felt more interesting and realistic. Overall, for the characters I would give this book  3 stars. 
     The writing was nothing spectacular there wasn’t a strong voice. I felt like the story was coming more from Clare’s point of view but she wasn’t the narrator. It was a third person narrator but they had a lot more insight into Clare’s head than into Aiden’s. I did like the layout of the story as they visited the places that meant something to their relationship that was cool because we got some insight on how they got to this point. Overall, I though the layout of the story was fun and sweet so I give this part of the book 4 stars.
     This book doesn’t tackle too much in themes or world building so I can’t really give a rating there. Overall, it’s a really unique look at a high school relationship and how to decide if the relationship should continue or end when going into college. I think a lot of people would like the characters even if they’re a little too cutsey or romantic (their relationship definitely played out like a chick lit rom-com). Plus I think the minor characters add a lot of flavor to the cast and I actually probably would have liked their story a little more.
     In general I neither loved or disliked this book so I’m going to give it 3 stars. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes Sarah Dessen or Jenny Haan. I don’t know if I would pick something else up by this author but if I’m in the mood for a light romantic read again I would probably gravitate towards this author.
Have you read this or anything else by this author? Is there a genre you don’t read too often?
Xoxo,
Mary
One thought on “Review: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between

Leave a Reply

