Top Ten Tuesday

Description: Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and The Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week we were given a freebie Ten to choose anything Valentine’s Day related so I’m going to pick my ten favorite book couples (in no particular order)

1. Harry Potter and Ginny Weasley

I think their relationship is wonderful (more so in the books than the film). I love the way it evolved organically and how you got to see them grown not only as a couple but as individuals.

2. Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger 

How could I mention Harry and Ginny and not talk about Ron and Hermione. I don’t remember when I really started to root for them as a couple (probably around book 4) but they were my favorite will they or won’t they couple. I really got nervous for them when Ron started dating Lavender but our favorite red-head and bookworm finally worked their feelings out for one another at the end of the series.

3.  Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet

This is the total swoon worthy couple. I loved their dislike at the beginning of the novel and couldn’t imagine them getting together but once they fought through their pride and prejudice they ended up being one of the greatest literary couples.

4. Susannah and Jesse 

The Mediator series was probably one of the first books that really introduced me to swoon worthy boys as a teen. And I am so excited that we have another book in this series coming out this year that (the first one in an adult line of the series) which is great because now I have another reason to reread this series.

5. Katniss and Peeta

I was on team Peeta since the moment we met him and even more so after learning about the whole bread incidence. I loved how he stood by Katniss even when she was unsure of her feelings and I was so happy when they both made it out alive and together.

6. Heathcliff and Catherine 

Even though this is one couple that didn’t work out I love their story and still get upset that they didn’t make it together (although there are hints that their children do make a relationship work so I guess I can be happy about that).

7. Gatsby and Daisy 

To be honest I am not a fan of this book but I did love the Gatsby and Daisy affair. I actually hated Daisy immensely but I did love the times where they were together and so clearly in love.

8. Kitty and Levin

I read Anna Karenina in high school and totally fell in love with Russian literature right then and there. My favorite character was Kitty she was so sweet and so real and I loved how she rejected his proposal the first time but then they gave it another shot and their love was reconciled.

 9. Jamie and Landon

This couple is the ultimate sad story. What starts off as simple tutoring sessions soon grows into a passionate love but because this is Nicholas Sparks they’re love has a sad tear inducing ending.

10. Buttercup and Wesley

Not only are they one of my favorite literary couples they are also one of my favorite movie couples. They went through so much to be with one another and you never doubted their love.

So, there you have it my ten favorite literary couples. Who are some of your favorite couples? Let me know in the comment section. And if you participated in this week’s Valentine’s theme post a link in the comments.

Xoxo,

Mary

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

