Review: Wink, Poppy, Midnight

WinkPoppyMidnight
Wink, Poppy, Midnight
April Genevieve Tucholke
Hardcover Pub. March 2016
Available Here

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

The Good:
-The writing. The writing definitely falls into the category of phenomenal.
-After it ends it stays with you. I found myself thinking about this for days (weeks) after finishing it
-The character of Poppy I love me a well-written villain, if she can even be considered the villain in this.
-Multiple view points. I love getting inside the heads of multiple characters and I think all 3 MC’s had very distinct voices so there was no chance of getting confused.

The Bad:
-There wasn’t much of a plot at least not until almost 2/3 through the book and by that point it’s almost too little too late
-I really enjoy character-driven books but we were a little beaten over the head with the same reveals about the characters like Poppy smells like jasmine and Wink has curly red hair and freckles
-I couldn’t stand Wink she annoyed me to no end. She just felt too unreal for me to really connect to. And I couldn’t figure out why Midnight was so impressed with her. Also, what was so amazing about Midnight?
-At the end I sort of felt myself wondering what exactly was the point of this?

Overall, this is a hard book to peg in any category. It’s sort of magical realism but not and it’s sort of a mystery but not. I think I would have enjoyed it significantly more had the action started earlier. We would have been given much stronger character arcs for all 3 characters and that would add to the reader engagement. I would definitely read more books by the author though because it mastery of words is just amazing. In the end, I am giving this title¬†3 stars.

Have you read this book? Are there any books that totally capture you based on the blurb and when you close the cover it sadly didn’t live up to your expectations?

XOXO,
Mary

Leave a Reply

