Book Review: Red Queen

22328546

Red Queen
Victoria Aveyard
Hardcover Pub Feb 2015
Available Here

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart …

The Good:
-The world building was really strong. I feel I got a really good sense of the two different worlds, that of the Red and that of the Silvers. I really enjoyed spending time in the different halls and palaces and then being transported to the desolate lands of the reds.
-The pacing was really good I felt like it was a good mix of dialogue and action
-The princes. They both made me swoon for different reasons but ultimately I am team Cal ❤
-The ending. I did not see it coming at all and I think it did a really good job of catapulting the reader into a whole new set of problems and action.

The Bad:
     -Mare. I feel bad for saying this but I am kind of over the kick ass heroine. I kind of want to read about a female protagonist who enjoys wearing dresses and is just a little bit girly. I will say that I liked how we got to see her train on how to use her powers and she wasn’t just magically gifted at using them
-Kilhorn. I think I just have a thing about guys who are the best friend and want more from the female lead but you already know it’s not going to happen. I refer to it as the Gale complex. I never liked him from the get-go and when we were introduced to Peeta I knew him and Katniss were never going to be end game. And that’s how I feel about Kilhorn. Maybe my mind will change as I get farther into book 2 but for now I feel like his exsistence it to just create romance drama.
-The way Victoria Aveyard just ripped out my heart and stomped all over it in regards to one of the characters

Rating:
4 stars definitely

This was an awesome read from a brand new author. I think it has a lot of similarities to other books in the dystopian genre but she manages to make a lot of changes and her characters are really strong and well-written. I definitely imagine this to be translated for the big screen (Aveyard is a screen-writer after all) and I for one will be fangirling all over it.

Have you read Red Queen? Who would you cast as Mare, Cal and Maven?

XOXO,
Mary

Leave a Reply

