Book Review: The Selection

10507293
The Selection
Kiera Cass
E-Reader Format April 2014
Available Here

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

The Good:
-I really loved America. I admired her being able to stay true to herself throughout the whole book from wearing very little makeup to making sure her maids were safe during an attack. I also appreciated that she was an artist/musician and not someone who was overly brave or a bad-ass in the typical dystopian setting.
-The main characters did not have inst-love. Well…it may have been insta-love for Maxon but America was very much still interested in her former boyfriend so her development of her relationship with Maxon felt more organic
-The supporting characters were enjoyable and unique. I liked that we weren’t flooded with a whole lot of people but those that we did meet were interesting and I felt like they served a purpose
-I am really eager to read more about America and Maxon

The Bad:
-The whole rebel thing was a bit silly and I felt like it was only included to prevent this from being a straight up romance.
-It’s categorized as fantasy but there was really nothing about the world or characters that screamed fantasy to me
-It took a little long to get to the whole selection and right when I felt myself being sucked in the book was over

The Rating:
3.5 stars

This was a light and enjoyable read. It took me a long time to get through because I kept finding myself in a mood for a more action-oriented book. But once I got that out of my system I was ready to return to America. I think this is a great book for girls who want to read about a girly-girl who is true to herself and overall a really good person (well until her tryst at the end but she’s young so I’m going to forgive her). I am definitely eager to read the rest even though thanks to The Heir I pretty much know how it’s going to play out but I still want to follow the journey there. The world building was nothing extraordinary but this is an awesome cozy swoon-worthy read if you’re in the right mood.

What’s your guilty pleasure read?

XOXO,
Mary

Leave a Reply

