Top 10 Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!
Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post and, if you want to, add your name to the Linky widget on that day’s posts (typically put up midnight EST on Tuesday) so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

This week’s theme is Beach Reads. This is a little hard for me because even though I live at the Jersey Shore I am not a fan of the beach. I really don’t like super hot days, wet sand, or having to sit in a ton of a traffic when I can go across the street and go swimming. So I’m going to just base it more on a summer reads theme.

In no particular order here are some fun, light, enjoyable books for the summer:

The SirenThe Unexpected EverythingThe Square Root of Summer.jpgFInding AudreyThe Loose Ends List.jpgWe Own the Night.jpgIn Hope of Memories.jpgThe Curse of the Bruel CovenA Torch Against the NightWe Were Liars.jpg

The Siren by Kiera Cass. This is about a group of girls who have to live by the water because well they’re sirens! You can’t get much beachier than that and it has a super sweet romance which just screams beach to me.

 The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. I haven’t read this yet but it seems like the perfect summer read the cover is bright and definitely sunny.

The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Hapgood. This seems like a pretty obviou choice given the word summer in the title lol (that was lame I know). Plus I love that there is quite a bit of brains involved in this book so you can be smart and sassy while still indulging in some summer romance.

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella. I can’t rave about this book enough it’s sweet fun and endearing and if I were to venture out to the beach I would definitely pack this one for the ride.

The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone. This is a case of love at first sight for me. The cover is so sweet and wonderful and one of my favorite GoodReads reviewers gave this a 4 star rating so you know it’s being added to the TBR pile.

We Own the Night by Ashley Poston. I just received the ARC for this and I am giddy to start it. It seems like a super fun contemporary read that I’m hoping to devour.

In Hope of Memories by Olivia Rivers is another ARC I have received and been holding on to even though it was released in May. Even though the backstory is sad (our girl Hope dies and sets her friends on a bit of a scavenger hunt) I think this story about 4 teens finding themselves despite the loss of a friend will prove to be an uplifting read for the summer.

The Curse of the Bruel Coven by Sabrina Ramoth. This is another ARC that I received although this one comes directly from the author herself (Hi Sabrina!) and if you’ve followed my blog for a decent amount of time you know that I love fantasy so even though my summer reading list is pretty heavy on contemporary I can’t leave out my tried and true fantasy reads. And this is one that is sure to be a lot of fun set in Louisiana featuring a 17 year old who has discovered that not only is she adopted but she’s a witch (this is definitely perfect for everyone who is feeling a lack of witch and wizard literature post-Harry).

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir. I’m pretty sure Sabaa is my spirit animal I mean there was no other book in 2015 that blew m mind as much as An Ember in the Ashes so of course summer will not be complete until I read this gem.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. This was another book I fell in love with two summers ago the writing blew me away and the twist ending was amazing. All-in-all definitely a cool fun summer read that takes place on a private island, what more could you want for the summer?

So what is everyone else plan on reading this summer? I’m actually planning on doing seasonal book lists so my first is going to be a list of books to read between Jun-Aug,Sept-Nov. etc. etc. I am definitely a mood reader and I find that there are certain genres I gravitate to during certain seasons. Is anyone else like that? Make sure to leave a link to your Top 10 for me to read.

XOXO,
Mary

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday

Leave a Reply

