Style Saturday

Style Saturday is a meme hosted by The Cheap Reader where each week I present a prompt about reading style and explain my answer. Feel free to join in with your answer in the comments or leave a link to your Style Saturday on your blog.

This week: How important are book summaries to you? How close does the summary need to be to the book?

Summaries are less important to me than reviews and recommendations. If it’s someone I know or someone’s who’s reviews I trust than that typically weighs more on me than the summary. For instance The Star-Touched Queen has a summary that totally speaks to me but there were a couple of reviews I saw that definitely turned me off from the book. So there’s the reason summaries aren’t as important to me.

Plus if it’s an author I know then chances are I’m going to read it regardless of what it’s about. I’m also someone who judges by the cover so if it’s got pretty packaging I’m going to pick it up.

Now keep in mind this doesn’t always result in me loving a book but that is how I pick what I’m going to read.

What about you how important are summaries when it comes to picking a book?

XOXO,
Mary

Leave a Reply

